Ways to Report Suspected Child Abuse or Neglect
Pennsylvania law encourages everyone to report any suspicions of child abuse or neglect in order to protect children.
Certain professionals are required to report.
A mandated reporter must make a report of suspected child abuse if they have reasonable cause to suspect that a child is a victim of child abuse under any of the following circumstances:
The mandated reporter comes into contact with the child in the course of employment, occupation and practice of a profession or through a regularly scheduled program, activity or service.
The mandated reporter is directly responsible for the care, supervision, guidance or training of the child, or is affiliated with an agency, institution, organization, school, regularly established church or religious organization or other entity that is directly responsible for the care, supervision, guidance or training of the child.
A person makes a specific disclosure to the mandated reporter that an identifiable child is the victim of child abuse.
An individual 14 years of age or older makes a specific disclosure to the mandated reporter that the individual has committed child abuse.
For additional information on Mandated Reporters, click the link below:
How to Report Suspected Child Abuse or Neglect?
To make a report of suspected child abuse or neglect, please contact:
The Pennsylvania Child Abuse Hotline (ChildLine): 1-800-932-0313
- Mandated reporters must make an immediate and direct report of suspected child abuse to ChildLine either electronically at www.compass.state.pa.us/cwis or by calling 1-800-932-0313.
- ChildLine is available 24 hours to receive reports of suspected child abuse and neglect.